上一主题:Real business example of interest rate swaps
下一主题:SF Testing Location
返回列表 发帖

Is it too late to start studying for the CFA Level 1?

Hi Everybody,

I wanted to get a realistic approach on whether its too late to start studying for CFA level 1? I have a background in accounting & finance and I am currently working in the accounting field. I also specialized in Finance during MBA.
I have to admit I am not a person who can study for long hours at a stretch. But, my quality of studying is best when I study in short intervals. So, considering all these factors, where do I stand in taking the level 1 in dec? I haven't yet registered and I would really like to take it in dec. I understand that each individual has a different capacity for studying but I just wanted to get opinions and personal experiences which can help me decided whether I can really take the exam in december.
Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

I have my undergraduate degree in accounting and finance - I have started studying one week ago and almost finished one book (although a very small book but once you start you can do it). My strategy is one reading per day with one day break each week for a total of 74 days (ignoring breaks). You are for sure not late for it

Omar

I think you should start with the CFAI books and see how it goes, after one or two weeks you will be able to tell whether you can study from them effectively or not. For many people Schweser will do the trick IMHO but do give the CFAI books a try, there is enough time. It would be ideal to study from the books, yes, but not necessarily indispensable in order to pass L1. I haven't sat for other levels so I can't speak for L2 and L3 though.

4 months is enough time.
But even more than usual, you have to be prepared to give up everything outside work.

Thank you everybody for your resourceful input.