上一主题:Equities : Markets and Instruments - Cash basis
下一主题:Value (long position on equity index)
返回列表 发帖

FRA and No Finance/Acct/etc Background

I am currently trying to move quickly through the Schweser videos (I am not taking notes as I go anymore), more than anything just to familiarize myself with the topics/terms/concepts/etc covered by the test (not necessarily trying to learn it at this point). I started (in order) with SS1 Ethics and am now up to about SS9, midway through FRA.

As in the title, I have no educational or work experience background that relates to the exam material. Certainly, I expect to put in a high(er) number of hours studying for the exam, but I'm already feeling a bit overwhelmed. Especially with FRA. I mean FRA in itself seems like a section that could take 200 hours to learn all the different treatments between IAS and GAAP and ALL THE RATIOS. I feel like it's going in one ear and out the other...

This was partially written as a rant and also in the hope that some that have been down a similar path before and come out the other side will offer some insight.

Thanks, B

I am down the same path right now... dont know how or where I will come out but yes, FRA is tough without any background... I have just completed it... don't remember most of it... though ratios are not difficult to remember... generally u can glean much out of their names... then a few tricks here and there... like margin means some kind of income will be num e.g. NI, EBIT etc... turnover means some kind of total amount will be on top like revenue or Cost of Goods Sold... etc.. plus you will come back to ratios again and again in other readings too so you will be revising them often... also, I feel they keep revisiting the imp differences b/w GAAP and IFRS like LIFO not allowed in IFRS.... I plan to come back to FRA once again if I have time...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at Friday, February 4, 2011 at 08:14AM by anish.