上一主题:Equity and Acquistion Method Question in CFAI Mock Morning
下一主题:Payer/Reciver Swaption
返回列表 发帖

I-Banking Interview soon - Advise pls

Hi all,
I'm in my 2nd year in a support role (ops) at a top tier i-bank. I now scored an opportunity to interview for a position as a first year analyst in i-banking (in either an industry vertical or M&A, all TBD). I graduated from a avg. joe accredited undergrad. business program in dec 08, and am a L3 candidate. All my full time previous work experience is Ops at this bank.

My questions are:

1. What will the IB interview be like? Pls provide sample questions, etc.

2. What do I want to stress in this interview / what qualities are they looking for)?

3. How should I feel about completing 2 years at the bank (although in ops) and then starting off as a 1st yr analyst all over again in IB?

4. Are the 1st 2 years really as brutal as they say? Pls provide details.

5. It's a 2 year program - what would my prospects be after completing 2 years of IB experience at top tier ibank?

Too many questions for one post I know, thanks for any help you can provide!

1. Interviews vary between person to person and bank to bank, generally you will go through multiple rounds, round 1 will be either over the phone ore in person, they want to know that you know what I-banking is, sounds stupid but some people apply and have no idea what investment bankers do. They want to know that you know the 3 methods of valuation; DCF (discounted cash flow), Precedent Transactions (companies similar to your clients that recently sold) and multiples (P/E, Price/Sales million of other metrics). The questions could be endless, whats WACC? explain the yield curve, anything and everything is fair game. Your CFA should help here, they make us memorize tons of minute equations and concepts related to finance.