上一主题:Violation Response
下一主题:Ethics question
返回列表 发帖

Hi, I'm new here and want to know a few things.

A bit about myself - I'm a recent college graduate with a math degree and a minor in economics. 3 months ago I just started a job at a bank in the asset servicing department. I'm technically a business analyst so much of my work is behind the scenes and project related. The bank I work in does asset management, but isn't really an investment bank.

Also, I'm essentially an actuarial drop out, which means I passed the first two exams but had a miserable time on the MFE exam because it was incredibly difficult. Also, I wasn't 100% focused on becoming an actuary so that affected my motivation for sure. Needless to say, I don't think studying for 9-10 near impossible exams are worth my effort and frustration.

But the CFA - that sounds interesting. Like I said before, I work in asset servicing and a couple of co-workers have taken the first 1-2 levels and passed. I borrowed the first textbook from a co-worker (which has ethics and quant methods on it) and the CFA designation sounds like something I want to try. I doubt it will help me in my current position, but I do feel ambitious enough to complete another challenge in addition to my job. At the very least, I feel like you could learn a lot of useful stuff just from studying the material. Also, my commute is an 80 minute train ride each way so I gotta do something while I'm sitting on the train

So here are some questions:

1) If I just use the official CFAI level 1 textbooks, would that be enough to study?

2) What are the main advantages/disadvantages if one was to solely use the CFAI textbooks for their material?

3) Apparently, there are 6 volumes in the CFAI level 1 textbook set, where the first volume is nearly 600 pages. How do the other 5 texts compare in length?

4) In your opinion, which topics are most difficult? How about most tedious? Why?