上一主题:L2 - Syllabus Continuity (For Retakers)
下一主题:立贴为证,期待人品大爆发,二级,呵呵。
返回列表 发帖

Work exp: Insurance Underwriting

I have 2.5 yrs of equity research experience and prior to that, I worked as an Insurance Underwriter wherein my job function primarily involved analyzing, selecting and pricing auto insurance risk exposures.

Would insurance underwriting be considered relevant work experience for the charter? Has anyone submitted similar experience to CFAI and got accepted/rejected or have any ideas as to how to present it?

Thank you for any suggestions!

bump. anybody?

Underwriting Team Leader
- Analyze risk characteristics of insurance applicants and make decisions regarding risk selection, placement, classification and pricing of auto insurance
- Conduct presentations for State Farm agents to promote understanding of the company's actuarial, underwriting, and marketing programs and train them in underwriting areas; provide assistance to agents and their staff on special cases
- Analyze agents' book of business and develop recommendations for growth and profitability; conduct analysis to understand structure of their risk portfolio

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at Tuesday, September 2, 2008 at 02:43PM by chintz.

Perhaps you could try to tailor it a bit more to the curriculum?
E.g. Maybe mention development / application of factor models to assess risk?

Did the pricing of insurance premiums take into consideration the investment returns from the other side of the business, or was the firm genuinely trying to make underwriting profits?