上一主题:Multi Manager Fund Analyst
下一主题:RFP Manager
返回列表 发帖

so i set up my first meeting..

In an application i'm completing it says 'do you know anyone that works here?', now i don't but i have an friend who lives with someone who does (sounds more tenuous than it is) he gave me her email and suggested I ask to meet her to enable me to put her name down. So I have emailed her asking if i can buy her a coffee and ask her some questions about the firm etc and she said she would be happy to meet me.

I have just graduated and never worked in the industry so this is my first attempt at networking, so i just thought i would see if anyone had any tips for me on how to get the most out of this meeting?

I figured i want to ask about her experience at the firm, any advice she might have for me about the selection process and how to succeed within the firm should i get a place.

Am i missing the point of these meetings or does this sound about right?

ie. should i be looking to establish a good connection first and foremost?

I would ask her about the position you're applying for (a little ways in), what she thinks about the role/department, and let her know you're going to apply for it. At that point shell either offer for you to list her on the app, or won't.

From there, just be eager to learn, demonstrate some understanding of her field/firm, and polite. Try and pay for the coffee.

Good luck.

Those are all fair questions, and also some good advice from jcole21. The key is to try to get an honest impression of the job, so don't be afraid to ask about what really matters to you (while also being politically correct).

would it be weird to have some questions written down and to be noting her answers?

Find out if she knows someone in the area for which you are applying. If she does and you make the right impression you have just upped your chances 50%. A good word on the inside goes a long, long way. Try and stack the odds in your favour.

mjbizzle87 Wrote: