上一主题:Probability model question
下一主题:CFA free sample exam - how did you do?
返回列表 发帖

Question about CFA Level 1 Study

I have a question regarding prep for the CFA Level 1. The registration deadline before prices go up for the CFA exam in June is Feb. 17th. I am debating on whether I have enough time to study for the exam. The following is a little background about myself. I got a double major in Economics and Engineering Science and a minor in Engineering Management and I graduated May 2009. I then enrolled in a Masters of Science in Finance program and I am in my second semester. I have taken basic finance, basic accounting, and I am currently taking derivatives, investments, and portfolio theory. I know that the website says 250 hours at least are strongly recommended. However, with 3 classes and two part time jobs I do not know if I will be able to devote that much time.
Do you think that 250 hours is needed if I have a degree in economics and I have taken accounting and finance classes already? Do you think I should wait till December? I ideally want to get it out of the way in June so I can hopefully pass and include it on my resume while i’m job searching this upcoming fall as this fall will be my final semester with my masters program.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

I struggled with this too. I have been looking over the syllabus for Level I. If most of this stuff is still fresh in your head and you are going to prepare solely by using a study guide, then perhaps you can do it. I prefer to prepare by sticking (mostly) to the required readings. There are 74 assigned readings for this test. After looking at the length of the readings, I decided that there is no way I’ll get through it and still have about a month to jam practice questions.
I know I must be in the minority – I just want to learn this stuff, not cram this stuff.
Good luck to you. You have quite a solid background.