返回列表 发帖

Advice for Level 1 June test takers

Some people were asking in the results thread if we have any advice to give for those writing in June. I thought it would be good to start a fresh thread for those that want to leave any tips/suggestions on what worked, or didn't work, for them.

Busterbluth, to answer your question

I have no background in business or finance (my degree is in psychology). I studied for roughly 3 months, and 2 of those months were very serious- probably an average of 4-5 hours a day six to seven days a week. I took a couple days leading up to the exam off..and by off I mean maybe only studied an hour.

I soley used Schweser's study guides (except for Ethics). These helped me a lot because imo the CFAI texts are very wordy, and Schweser really helped me focus on the critical pieces of information. I liked the way they broke down each learning outcome statement at a time. For Ethics, I read the CFAI text as well as Schweser.

First I read all of Schweser's notes once, and of course did all of the end of chapter questions from Schweser-which are quite easy and really just test your reading comprehension. After finishing up with the Schweser notes, I used Schweser's question bank for more practice questions. I did these by section and didn't move on to a new section until I was scoring at least above 65-70% on each test for that section. I used Qbank whenever I really did not feel like studying but wanted to get into it.. Since it's on the computer and I get to click buttons, somehow this helped keep me focused/entertained when I needed help getting into it.