上一主题:General question about ETHICS!
下一主题:Resume Questions
返回列表 发帖

How to go on about Quants

Hey guys. I am awaiting my result for Level 1 but nonetheless have started working towards L2 too. Fingers crossed for next week though! Quants was a nightmare for me back in L1 and I am perfectly sure I won’t be scrapping above 50 percent in that area. I couldn’t grasp hypothesis testing etc and more or less left it. Now that I am studying, I am getting confused constantly from Schweser. Any ideas on where I should look for more explanation? Should I study it in detail from the curriculum or will it confuse me more by going in too much detail?

If you’re waiting on L1 results, I suggest you switch gears and start with some other topic that you liked during L1. Like FRA, Corp. Fin., or Ethics.
Sorry if I sound crude, but there’s no point in sugar coating: if you skipped L1 Quant, you’re going to have a hard time with L2 Quant. Hypothesis testing is key, and so are confidence intervals.
If Schweser isn’t legible, then CFAI will help, but you have to practice blue box examples and EOC questions.
At the end of the day, like any other prep provider, Schweser is going to take shortcuts. If anything, all the prep providers have a higher probability of confusing than the core CFAI material. I’m a huge fan of the CFAI material, so take my input FWIW.
Good luck with L1 results!

I hate CFAI material but I do agree with Aether on his other points.  Start with something easy to settle you in.  I also started with Quant and just couldn’t move forward with it.  I was just hitting a brick wall with it.  Difficult material combined with low motivation are a show-stopper.
Start with Corp Finance, Alt Investments, or Equity.  These are pretty straightforward and will ease you into the material and help you establish a pace.