上一主题:I am the lowest paid CFA charterholder. Can u beat me?
下一主题:Kaplan 16 Week Online Course
返回列表 发帖

Equity/Credit security analysis - (from hopeful L III passer

Gents,
I think I have had it at my current job. As in, I don’t think its what I want to do with my life (manager selection for major asset management firm). I’ve been doing this more or less for almost 5 years now and have found it to be totally unrewarding.
After interviewing hundreds of fundamental equity/credit managers, I am convinced I could do at least a passable job as an equity/credit analyst. Its not rocket science, just deep research and heavy excel modeling (I am an excel master).
Two questions - 1 - what do you think is a good sector to get my feet wet? I was thinking consumer discretionary. Maybe mid and large cap. 2 - is there anywhere I can get my hands on a generic sell side model? Thanks for any advice. Thinking I passed level III on the first try in June. Here’s hoping.

Nothing in financial services is rocket science.  It is not even skill.  It is mostly luck. (source: Kahneman).  So yes, you can do just as well as anyone holding such a position.  Probably more than just passable under the right circumstances.
As for a sell-side model, my duty to my employer wont allow me to share any but they vary greatly in terms of inputs.  Can you get access to Factset?  Many analysts post them online.
There are many Associate positions avaialble but this is the real grunt work.  You do all the modeling, draft all the notes, get paid peanuts but you get the experience and if you have a good attitude, can eventually move up to where your name is on a report or leverage the role to get a #2 spot at another firm.
I think SMID consumer is good because in certain verticals you can model in some inteersting stuff.  Like retail.  Large cap is pretty well covered and industrials are not interesting.  Healthcare would be very value add but need specialized knowledge of drugs, patent cliffs, etc.